Ballinger Senior Principal Serves as Jury for Excellence Awards

  • 07.18.19|1 min. read

The Society for College and University Planning (SCUP) Excellence Awards showcase strategic, integrated planning processes resulting in exemplary projects that contribute to institutional success. Ballinger Senior Principal Craig Spangler, AIA served as 2019 Jury Chair for the annual competition, now in its 19th year. This year’s submissions represented 135 institutions, all demonstrating how strategic, integrated planning can result in exemplary building, grounds, institutional success, and careers that inspire.

The jury also included Niraj Dangoria, Associate Dean for Facilities Planning and Management at Stanford University’s School of Medicine, Arthur Frazier, AIA, Director of Facilities Management and Services at Spelman College, Laura Tenny, ASLA, LEED-AP, Senior Campus Planner in the Office of Campus Planning at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), and Karen Wolfert, AIA, Senior Architect and Campus Planner at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (UWM). The jury presented entry trends and themes in a session at the SCUP 2019 Annual Conference in Seattle, and celebrated the 29 award winners.