Ballinger principal Craig S. Spangler, AIA served on the jury for the 2018 SCUP Excellence Awards. The program, organized by the Society for College and University Planning, recognizes comprehensive campus design and planning as a collaborative effort that involves campus architects, planners, administrators, faculty, processional consultants and many stakeholders in higher education. This year the program received submissions representing 156 institutions.

In addition to Craig, the jury included Dean Gregory, BCSLA, ASLA, LEED AP, Campus Landscape Architect at University of British Columbia and jury chair; Vuk Vujovic, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP BD+C, Vice President and Director of Sustainability and Energy at Legat Architects; Wendy Hills, AIA, University Architect at Tulane University; and Laura Cruickshank, FAIA, Master Planner, Chief Architect, and Associate Vice President for University Planning, Design and Construction at the University of Connecticut. Winners will be announced at the SCUP 2018 Annual Conference in Nashville on July 16th. Craig and his fellow jurors will present “Observed Themes in Higher Education Planning and Design From the 2018 Excellence Award Entries and Recognition of Winners” at the conference.